Sally's Drama Corner

Asian Drama Talk with Sally.P

Fabolous Boys TW drama – Remake of Korean drama You’re Beautiful

I am sure many people have watched the Korean drama You’re Beautiful, with a wonderful cast including of Jang Geun Suk, Park Shin Hye, Jung Yong Hwa (CN Blue) and Hongki (FT island), and the villian Uee. The drama was broadcasted in 2009, can you believe it’s been that long! and Park Shin Hye gets to act with flower boy after flower boy, she is one lucky actress, haha. She’s like a flower boy magnet.

12051279654941868_f91402af_c

I was so in love with this drama back in the days, and not long after they made a Japanese remake of it. I dismissed the idea of a Japanese version as soon as I saw the cast. L O L, after falling in love with three hotties from the Korean version, I just couldn’t stand watching the Japanese cast.

As always, we can question how they portray ladies in Asian dramas. The heroine is sure one stupid character, a common factor with many Asian dramas heroines (especially idol drama).

As I said, i dismissed the Japanese version without watching it solely based on the fact that I didn’t like the looks of the cast. Shallow, I know, but the Idol world is a harsh world, you don’t have the looks (and/or skills), your out. I wouldn’t possible be able to watch a drama where they describe the characters as good-looking when I don’t agree so. So when I heard that they were making a Taiwanese version of it, with Jiro was the leading male I was more than happy. I love to see him as Hwang Tae Kyung. I first fell in love in Yonghwa through this drama, therefore I have HIGH expectation on the guy who will fill his position as the TW version of Shin Woo Oppa. Shin Woo sure made me to hug my pillow and then throw it as it was infect, you just wanted to give him a punch and tell him to effing confess to the lady today, or you’ll lose her forever, why are you so stupid! Haha okay let’s breath.

322071511564294472_1bd3c8d5_c

Check out the teaser for the TW version of You’re Beautiful (aka Fabulous Boys) below, please excuse the bad sound quality.

This is typical Jiro kind of role, even though the character fits Jiro well, it’s getting boring.This is his third time playing an idol, and second time he plays the ‘fallen-idol’ character.

ToGetHer with Rainie Yang (dropped this drama)

Drama Go Go Go (currently watching)

and now Fabulous Boys (upcoming drama)

Either way, I am looking forward to this drama. I am exciting to see how they will portray each character and how much they keep from the original plot.

//S

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 11, 2013 by in Taiwanese Drama Corner and tagged , , .
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

